I’m Going to Make you an Offer You Cannot Refuse

31 Jan

I grew up on three creativity-inspiring things: popsicle stick crafts, papusas, and Jane Austen.

Over the years, in times of soul-searching and self discovery, I’ve relied on various Jane Austen-themed quizzes to help me determine my true identity (I tried Zodiac signs for a while, but fortune cookies ended up being more reliable, so I stopped).

blind date

Unfortunately, the only thing that these divining quizzes proved was the fact that I’m an Austen chameleon.

When I’m in a “hard-to-get mood,” I’m Lizzie Bennett. When I find myself longingly remembering all of the guys I COULD have dated, I become Anne Elliot. And when I’m in the mood to selflessly make all around me others happy, I fancy myself as Emma Woodhouse.

emma woodhouseRight now I’m in an Emma mood. No, I’m not dating a man who is 15 years older than me and running around the village with my ditzy BFF who falls in love with every man who looks at her…  I’m in the mood to be a  matchmaker!

Although she tries many times, Emma never makes a successful match. I guess that one thing that we have in common. Nevertheless, we never stop trying (for anonymity sake, I’ve changed names):

Stacy and Cameron – He was a recently returned missionary and had a sexy little Latin American accent. She was a boy crazy, freckled, Spanish enthusiast.  I think they kissed at one point, but now she’s married to someone else and he is a Provo All-Star. Holla

Mable and Fred – He was boring. She was boring. Apparently two wrongs don’t make a right.

Sally and Jason – Sometimes two weird people aren’t quite weird enough to realize that being together would make them less weird.

Hannah and Tony – My leftovers pushed off onto a friend. He never asked her out and she didn’t care.

Lola and Jason – After the initial date he said that she was the “most beautiful girl in the world.” He’s pretty enthusiastic about it, but we’ll see what she thinks. Outcome: TBD

blind date disneyland

What inspired this sudden urge to match?

Earlier this week, I logged onto BYU’s job placement website and right underneath opportunities at Sears, Vanguard, and Goldman Sacks this enticing title was posted:

“The LDS Matchmaker is hiring an Assistant Matchmaker to meet with singles one on one about our services and suggest matches for clients”

(If you’re interested more details can be found here

I firmly believe that it’s important to find job opportunities that stretch my skill set. Matchmaking is an obvious choice.

Although, I don’t have time to do the job right now, I’m interested in developing the skill set.

make out

This could be you!

Thus, I’ve decided to give you, my loyal readers, a chance to find true love and myself an opportunity for myself to build my resume.  If you:

  1. Invite 30 people to “like” Irresistible Girl on Facebook
  2. Pin, Instagram, or Tweet something from this blog (only one is necessary)
  3. Email me to let me know once you’ve finished! (on your honor)

I will match you with your soulmate!

This is an oportunity you won’t want to miss, what do you have to lose? True love is just a few clicks away…

**Men are eligible too (I have MANY cute girlfriends and all of them are Irresistible).

***You must live in Utah, San Diego, Virginia or be willing to travel to one of those places to be eligible (although I would LOVE it if you still invited 30 people to “like” the FB page)

One Response to “I’m Going to Make you an Offer You Cannot Refuse”

  1. Gede Prama January 31, 2014 at 3:15 am #

    Thank you for sharing and greetings 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

