Why Going into Business was the Best, Worst Decision I’ve ever Made

4 Oct

So What?monster movie

Having natural talent is great but having a good work ethic is even better.  I’ve always believed that if I study hard enough I will be able to get good grades and succeed in school.  With a few exceptions, that perspective has helped me a lot.  Unfortunately, I’m living in a class schedule that’s full of exceptions.

Ever since I decided to go into business, I’ve loved my decision: I’m interested in my classes, I’ve had supportive teachers, and I like how the material is very relevant in my life.  When I go to the business school I feel like I enter a beehive of opportunity.  Its always busy and it’s always buzzing.  My favorite thing about it is that when I’m there, a majority of the people that I meet match my enthusiasm for life.

That being said; business classes don’t love me.

I’m used to being in classes that are memorization based and my business classes aren’t like that.  In business we learn principles & theories and then we apply them.  Although my classes are interesting, my teachers are supportive, and the material is engaging, I’m having a hard time with the application.  I’ve had to re-train my mind how to think and its been a laborious process.

Its also been very humbling because I’ve never studied so hard and preformed so poorly on my tests.  I keep thinking that if I just keep at it, someday, things will click and I’ll be good at it.  At least that’s what I’ve heard other people say about this type of thing.cinematogrophy

Now What?

I need to keep going.  Although its slightly depressing to work super hard and feel like I’m getting no-where, I love the process of change!  My mind is changing and developing in a really cool way.  My occasional failures have strengthened my resolve, helped me develop new study skills & habits, and helped me to make some great friends.  Who knows? I might end up changing my major and going through this whole process again.!

No matter where I end up, it’s trials like these that make me strong and make me new.

2 Responses to “Why Going into Business was the Best, Worst Decision I’ve ever Made”

  1. Caitlin Gardner October 4, 2013 at 3:51 am #

    I feel like I always comment, but seeing as I went through that drudgery Winter semester, I can tell you that the hard work coupled with dissatisfaction in your grades makes your next semester in your program feel like you’re walking on the clouds. I still can’t believe how much I always felt like I was drowning in the integrated core. You rock at life, and I’m happy to see you being much more positive about all of it that I was! 🙂 Excited to see where life takes you.

    • kateherrod October 13, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you so much Caitlin! I really needed to hear that… I appreciate your words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

