The Best Flirting Technique That I Learned From Boy-Band Pop

7 Jun

Infatuation.  The driving force behind a majority of modern pop music.

There are a million songs about every aspect of love.  The Chance Encounter. Flirting. Obsession. Marriage. Heartbreak.  Although most seem to yield feebly original content & lyrics, they manage to lure listeners in with a catchy new tune and a big name singer.

Anyway, in high school I loved this song.  Since I didn’t have much experience with boys, I loved this musical articulation of a cute guy’s infatuation for an amazing, fun, mysterious girl.  It was like crack for my mind.  For 4 minutes and 24 seconds I got a glimpse into his mind and I tried to analyze her successful flirting tactics. I would listen to it and think, How can I become like her? Completely irresistible to guys?

The answer is simple: Be hard to get.

Although it has a negative connotation, being hard to get is one of the best ways to attract guys because It’s the fuel for infatuation.

There are billions of women on this planet.  Many of them are smarter, prettier, funnier, and more talented than you.  Why would a guy want to choose you?

I don’t know.

And neither does he.

It isn’t your job to get a date by flirting shamelessly or talking about every single one of your life’s achievements, all you need to do is work on being Irresistible to yourself. The Big Secret? Become passionate about your life. When you’re passionate about your life, you give off a good vibe that attracts other people to you.  I don’t know why it works, but it does.

(Viola in She’s The Man = confident)

Be excited about your goals. Discover unusual hobbies.  Develop meaningful relationships.

When you live your life the way that YOU want to live it being “hard to get” is a natural side affect.  Many girls mistake manipulation or playing games for “being hard to get.”  There is a huge difference between building your confidence and attempting to mess with a guy’s emotions.  Frankly, I find those tactics to be immature, annoying, and damaging.

All you have to do is be excited about your life and interested in the lives of others.  Its the only sincere way to flirt.

If you feel like you lack confidence right now, don’t worry.  Confidence takes years to develop… I consider it to be one of those things that you always work on but never truly perfect.

I’m no expert in confidence, but one thing that has helped me a lot is to spend time thinking about all of the things that I love about myself: What difficult experiences have you overcome? What characteristics do you value about yourself? What do your friends think about you?

lips.jpgYou are unique, and special.  Own it.

Leave a Reply

