Gardens are for Spices, Not Pansies

3 Jun

The cute "local" nursery

About a year ago I had a basil plant that was slowly consumed by the Very Hungry Caterpillar and it died before I could save it.

Last winter I accidentally let my rosemary plant freeze to death.

.

I’ve decided that this year is going to be different.  This year my thumb WILL turn green.

.

My friend Chris, who lives in my apartment complex, wanted to buy a basil plant and I decided to go with him to get some rosemary.  I’m not sure how much of the rosemary I’ll use but I know that it’s a good investment because HE will make some delicious Italian food for us.

Chris spent 2 years in Italy on a mission and besides his flawless Italian grammar, his cooking is delightful.  I figure that a 4 dollar investment in spices for his pastas will yield a pretty good return.

Irresistible Girls need to have some hobbies and I think that this may be the end of my failures and the beginning of a beautiful relationship for me with gardening.

Yes, this is a venus fly trapThis my friends, is a Venus Fly Trap.  I thought that they only had them at the zoo.

Apparently not.

P1040846

Some people can grow flowers but I choose to make things a little spicy…

The finished product

The finished product

ps. part two of Why Guys At BYU are Too Picky is almost done and I hope to have it out this week… probably after my marketing test.

Leave a Reply

