Embrace the Awkward

30 May

I’m always talking about how important it is to step outside of your comfort zone and try new things SO yesterday I decided to take my own advice and do something risky.

Naturally it has to do with boys…

I met a guy a few weeks ago in a review session for one of my classes.  After the review we ended up having to go to the same computer lab for another class so we walked together and talked for a while. We had a lot in common and I thought he was pretty cool.  I’m not completely oblivious to social cues from guys and I would say that he seemed into the conversation too.

A week went by and I didn’t get another chance to talk to him because he sits in the front of the class and I sit in the back. I didn’t really think about him that much until the other day when I realized that I should probably try a little harder to “put myself out there” as my grandma likes to say.  I’ve gotten too comfortable in my schedule, with the same friends, doing the same things so I thought it would be fun to change things up a bit!

Thus, I decided to devise a strategy to get to know computer lab guy.

My plan was simple. Sit next to him in class.

How hard could that be?  I knew where he sat and I knew that he didn’t sit by anyone else so why not give it a shot? What’s the worst that could happen?

Let me tell you what the worst case scenario is like: getting the silent treatment for 2.5 hours.

APPARENTLY I missed the class on college flirting etiquette because sitting down next to someone that you’ve had a conversation with is a MAJOR breech of social decorum.  Let me elaborate for a moment (It will make me feel better)…….He sat on the far edge of his chair the WHOLE period, when we had to work in a group he found two extra people to join us, he gave short replies to any conversations that I tried to start, and he left for the ENTIRE 15 minute break that we had in the middle of class.

Was I an unwanted guest?

… I’m still not sure.

I will give him credit for one thing: at the end of the period I think he felt a little bad about ignoring me so he started a conversation about these new gallon sized jars of TABASCO SAUCE.

Yes my friends, one WHOLE gallon.

One gallon, my friends

Honestly, I don’t know what I did wrong because I looked pretty cute, I didn’t smell weird, and I tried to be friendly.  The thought crossed my mind that he may have a girlfriend, but he just got back from a two year stint in Mexico and I know that he wasn’t dating down there… My best theory is that he thought that I was WAY more interested in him than I actually was.

I may be completely wrong here, but I don’t think that sitting next to someone for ONE class period means that you want to marry them.  It doesn’t even mean that you want to date them! It just means that you want to be friendly and talk to someone while enjoying a day at school.  I’ve sat next to many guys who were married or engaged who were more polite to me than he was.

Is common courtesy dead? Ok. Maybe I’m reading into this too much…

All in all, after 2.5 hours of awkwardness I have to admit that I’m glad I did it.  It wasn’t THAT painful and if I hadn’t done it I may have always wondered what would have happened if I hadn’t given it a shot. Plus I’ve learned two things: Tabasco Sauce comes in gallon sized jugs and the guy in my class doesn’t like people to sit by him (or maybe it was just me. ha).

The take home message?

Take a risk today.  Do something daring and exciting!  Don’t feel bad if it doesn’t work out because honestly, if he worst case scenario DOES happen, living through it isn’t that bad.  In fact, its kind of funny!  (I hate to say it but while he was ignoring me I thought is was so ridiculous and funny that I couldn’t help giggling during class… a few times)

You ARE awesome and there isn’t anything that should stand in your way!

2 Responses to “Embrace the Awkward”

  1. Madison June 3, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    Props to you K!! You sit by those guys in your classes. I’ve done the same thing a few times and most of the time, the guys have acted waay weirded out. I’m like chill! I just didn’t want to sit alone, and thought maybe we could be friends. Nothing more. Maybe even less. Anyways, I like your advice. I’m going to take a risk this week!

    • kateherrod June 3, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      Madison, I love you! I’m so glad that we’re friends now

      As a side note, today in class he came up and talked to some people that were sitting by me and I didn’t know what to do so I did the logical thing and ran to the bathroom! Maybe I’m not as brave as I thought I was…

Leave a Reply

