What do Peanut Butter, Anne Of Green Gables, and Housework Have to do With Having a Better Day?

18 May

Do you remember a children’s show called “The Big Comfy Couch“? It was about a clown who lived on a HUGE couch and pulled out unusual things out from between the cushions.  I don’t remember much about the show itself but I know that it came on after one of my favorite shows… Sailor Moon. Whenever Sailor Moon and the Sailor Scouts finished up their latest adventure The Big Comfy Couch would come on and I found myself faced with a difficult decision: Should I go do my chores? Or watch the couch show?


Despite my disinterest in the clown and her doll, I usually went with “The Big Comfy Couch”

I started thinking about the show a few days ago and after doing a little research about it I discovered a few fun facts:

1) It was created in Canada… Meaning that my short list of great things that come from Canada is significantly longer than it used to be! This is my list (not in any particular order):

  • Anne of Green Gables: Canadian Author Lucy Maud Montgomery

  • Drake: Born in Toronto, played hockey, and starred in Degrassi.  Now thats what I call a TRUE Canadian.

  • Peanut Butter (apparently it was made by a Canadian in America… we’ll give it to them)

2) It aired from 1992 to 2006 with a total of 7 seasons… Thats ONE more than LOST.

3) There is also a Spanish version of the show titled, “El Sofa de mi Imaginacion.” The Sofa of My Imagination. A much better title, in my opinion, because the word “comfy” is a complete joke. That couch appears to be anything BUT comfy. If it was actually “comfy” Loonette wouldn’t be standing on it like that… she would WANT to sit on it.

Anyway, the other day I was talking to my roommate Madison about keeping up with housework and I mentioned that although I’m not a super clean person I like to do a Ten Second Tidy at least once a day to make cleaning more manageable… “Ten Second Tidy”… where did that come from again??

Oh thats right.  The Big Comfy Couch!

Then it clicked.  I realized that although I grudgingly watched the show to escape my Satudray morning chores for years, the only thing that I ACTUALLY gained from it was the fact that it’s important to keep the house clean.  I All that time I thought that I was tricking my mom into an extra half hour of TV but in the end she won.

The show won!

My seven-year-old self was manipulated into believing that I could be happier if I would do a ten second tidy like Loonette.  The funny thing is that I have no memory of my mother, friends, or teachers every talking about “ten second tidies.”  It was just Loonette.

After that revelation I began to wonder what types of things I absorbed from other useless TV shows?  Maybe I subconsciously manicure my nails like the women on QVC? Or that strange competitive desire I have to date the guy that every other girl wants actually came from the Bachelor? Perhaps all of the Jersey Shore episodes will FINALLY PAY OFF and teach me how to curse with eloquence??

Whatever characteristics I’ve absorbed from these useless shows I know that at the very least, I have to attribute a portion of my Irresistibility to Loonette and her dolly, Molly.

When I think about the things that I want out of my life I realize that as much as I want the flashy job, cool clothes, and awesome boyfriend…

…all I really want is peace.

I want serenity.

I want a break from the chaos in my life.

For that reason alone, I believe that there’s a lot of wisdom in attempting to keep your home environment clean. You need to keep it clean because you DESERVE an extra bit of peace in your life. How much internal peace can you feel if your home environment is cluttered and dingy? Open the windows and let in some light! Tidy up! Open the windows and buy an air freshener!

I’ll be the first person to tell you that Irresistibility comes from the inside and not from external sources but there are a few external things you can do in your life that bring internal satisfaction. This is one of them. Watching Chick Flicks is not.

I am not an incredibly clean person.  I’ve never had a spotless room or checked under the couch for extra dirt but over the past few months I’ve spent a LITTLE more energy keeping my space cleaner and I’ve found that it’s brought a noticeable amount of peace to my life.  The best part is that it isn’t difficult to do!

All I did was start adding “Ten Second Tidies” to various parts of my day depending on the dirtiness of my environment and my energy level at the time.  30 seconds to clean up the vanity before I leave for school.  1 minute to put a few of the dishes away while my food is in the microwave.  5 minutes to fold my laundry while I’m waiting for a ride to pick me up.  Its that easy!

                    VS.         

The house is NEVER completely clean but I find that upkeep is much easier in concise intermittent jogs rather than hour-long cleaning marathons or stressful last minute sprints before company comes.

I find this quote very relevant, “everything comes to him that hustles while he waits.”

Thats essentially what you’re doing by having mini “Ten Second Tidies” during the day… you’re hustling to clean up your space.  If you take time to clean during your few moments of spare time, you won’t feel guilty about having a messy environment AND you’ll be able to enjoy the peace that comes from having a tidy home!

If you need an example, watch Loonette – She’s a Pro!

2 Responses to “What do Peanut Butter, Anne Of Green Gables, and Housework Have to do With Having a Better Day?”

  1. Madison June 3, 2013 at 6:43 am #

    Dude, Kate! I used to loooove the Big Comfy Couch when I was little. I totally remember her doing the “10 second tidy” too! That’s something my mom passed on to me as well as Loonette. It’s a good practice. You’re so right, peace comes with a little cleanliness.

    • kateherrod June 3, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      I’m so glad that I’m not the only one… after I wrote this I told some people about the show and they had NO IDEA what I was talking about.

Leave a Reply

